Jewellery Cabinet Makeover Reveal

My husband and I have a soft spot for the runts of the litter. No, I’m not talking about puppies, I’m talking about trash that no one would even think to touch let alone refurbish. When hubs spotted this old tool cabinet in the garbage, he had to try to save it!

At first I thought I’d make it into a craft cabinet, but then I had a better idea! I needed somewhere to store my silver jewellery so it wouldn’t tarnish before I had a chance to wear it. This cabinet provided the perfect solution – with a lot of body filler, sanding, a few coats of primer and paint, plus some special finishing touches, we upcycled it into a jewellery storage cabinet!!

C_Jewellery Cabinet 2_bof

Here’s how it started out:

thumb_R0012610_1024_bof

It looked even worse on the inside!

thumb_R0012606_1024_bof

Here’s a closer look at the detail once hubs did his magic on this sad looking piece!  We added some modern handles to the drawers:

Jewellry Cabinet 017_bof.jpg

We made it into a rolling cart of sorts by mounting wheels onto the right side for mobility while legs on the left side help keep it stationary when it’s in place. We also added a handle on the opposite side to act as a grab bar so it could be lifted and re-positioned. The trick to keeping the cart level is in making sure that the legs and wheels are exactly the same height.

C_details.jpg

Wheels on the right side allow it to be moved with the grab bar on the opposite side

Hubs removed the wooden knobs and replaced most of the hardware including the door locking mechanism so we had a key. To get the cabinet open, you have to use the key to release the right side of the door. The left side can then be opened by reaching in and squeezing the catch to release it.  Being able to hide away the key provides some peace of mind in keeping my jewellery collection secure when we occasionally have strangers in the house.

C_Door locking mechanism.jpg

Clockwise from left: inside view of door lock, outside view of keyed lock, door catch, gravity door holder, roller catch

Here’s the before and after transformation of the outside of the cabinet:

C_Opening_Cabinet_bof

However, the inside of the two doors is where the transformation really gets interesting. Hubs spray painted metal panels with a durable car paint and then installed them with screws to the insides of each door:

Jewellry Cabinet 008_bof.jpg

I purchased a bunch of high quality earth magnets:

Jewellry Cabinet 009_bof

Then I purchased some resealable plastic pouches in two sizes to organize my stash. I made sure that the smaller size would easily fit into the larger bags so I could combine the two if necessary.

Jewellery '08 003_bof.jpg

Large pieces such as necklaces go into the larger plastic bags and then small pieces, such as earrings, in the smaller ones. If I have a matching set, I just double up by inserting the small bag of earrings into the bag holding the larger item to keep them all together!

For silver jewellery especially, this resealable bag system is ideal. Who wants to spend time polishing? Not me. If you squeeze the air out of the bag before it’s closed, your silver pieces will stay tarnish free – just be sure to close the bag tight!

I can easily see what I have when I open up the doors and the magnets make it a cinch to keep it all organized.

Jewellery '08 002_bof

Tarnish free!

As you may have seen in my previous post, the inside space was pretty bare so we added a shelf for more storage to make the piece even more functional.

Jewellery Cabinet 031_bof3

With the addition of the shelf, I now have extra storage space for purses and a few overflow shoeboxes too.

Hubs has a way of turning idioms on their end: maybe you really can make a silk purse out of sow’s ear afterall?  I certainly was doubtful we’d be able to pull off something useful from a tool cabinet that looked as bad as this one did to start!

C_J Cabinet_After_BOF

We temporarily had this cart sitting in our office until I decided where I wanted to place it permanently. Now that it’s in place, I’ll complete it with a mirror on the wall above it.  The mirror will add additional convenience – allowing me to see how my jewellery looks when I try it on so I can immediately return any pieces I swap out back into the cabinet.

If this project has inspired you, please pin and share on Facebook!

Jewellery Cabinet 001_bof.jpg

The next time we made over a cart, we made it easy on ourselves and started with a brand new Ikea Stenstorp to create this kitchen storage hack:

C_Opening_bof

Follow my blog here or on Bloglovin’ to see upcoming DIY projects, in and around the home.

Bloglovin Button

Featured on Hometalk.com

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “Jewellery Cabinet Makeover Reveal

  1. Pingback: Add a Melamine Shelf Inside a Cabinet for Storage | Birdz of a Feather Home

  2. That turned out great. What fun to turn such a tired piece into a treasure once again. What do you plan to do with the drawers? I love drawers.
    I never thought to store silver pieces in air tight bags. You’re brilliant, Sara.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG THIS MAKEOVER R-O-C-k!!! I love the transformation, and your husband idea created lot of additional space to hang your jewelry. I must show this to my hubby to make one for me. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

