Upcycled Clock for Craft Studio

OK, so it’s not a far stretch to upcycle a clock into another clock, but when I stumbled upon an Umbra clock at my local Value Village, it struck me that I didn’t yet have one for my craft studio.

Here’s how it started out:

umbra-clock-1_bof

With a vinyl sticker, I knew I could turn it into a one-of-a-kind piece to sport my Birdz of a Feather logo. Once I saw the price, it was a no-brainer; you can’t even buy a clock mechanism for that!

Studio Update 201_bof.jpg

The clock is battery operated and held on by a nut and some washers so it was easy to take it apart with a socket wrench.

Studio Update 199_bof.jpg

Once it was apart, I cleaned it with rubbing alcohol so the sticker would adhere well. I peeled back a small section of the sticker and positioned it where I wanted it.

If you didn’t want to use a vinyl sticker, you could also print out your graphic on paper and decoupage it onto the clock face.

I have to admit that I didn’t use a graphic squeegee applicator to smooth it out as I peeled the backing and that was a big mistake. I ended up with air bubbles everywhere! I had to use a safety pin to carefully pick up an edge and peel it off again (one half at a time) and then lay it down smoothly again with the squeegee. You just can’t do it without a tool! If you don’t have a squeegee, a credit card will also work in a pinch.

Studio Update 202_bof.jpg

I put the clock works back in the order they were taken off and I was done!

studio-update-207_bof_crop

You might remember the vintage hutch shelf hubs and I upcycled a few months ago. I thought the clock would look great hanging from the pegboard! I used a plastic hook especially made for pegboard to hold the clock on.

All-in-all, not a bad little project for $1.50 + the cost of the vinyl sticker!

studio-update-218_bof

Hubs and I are busy as bees with my craft studio and it’s looking great. Last weekend we had some much appreciated help moving in and setting up all the heavy equipment!

Studio Update_Setup 072_bof.jpg

I’ll have the final reveal of my craft studio in the next week or two! In the meantime, feel free to check out the progression of my craft studio to date:

  1. The Making of a Craft Studio– Calling All Crafters: Help Me Decide the Best Layout for my New Studio
  2. The Making of a Craft Studio (II)– Design Your Space Using Ikea’s Pax Planner!
  3. The Making of a Craft Studio (III) – If You Build It, She Will Come!
  4. The Making of a Craft Studio (IV) – Progress Report

At Birdz of a Feather, we’re feathering the nest… one room at a time. If this project has inspired you, please pin and share on Facebook.

Bloglovin Button

Featured on Hometalk.com

Save

Save

7 thoughts on “Upcycled Clock for Craft Studio

  1. Pingback: Antique Hutch/Shelf Upcycle | Birdz of a Feather Home

  2. Pingback: The Making of a Craft Studio (VI): The Final Reveal! | Birdz of a Feather Home

  3. Pingback: Take a Seat | Birdz of a Feather Home

Leave a Reply

